New Student Spotlight: Jessica Kuntz

Hi everyone! My name is Jessica Kuntz. I am from Ithaca, New York which is about an hour away from Syracuse. I am planning on majoring in Biotechnology and also receiving a concentration in Spanish at Syracuse University. I’ve always been very passionate about learning languages and experiencing different cultures. I have been to Spain three different times through Spanish immersion programs. It was there that I fell in love with the Spanish language, culture and of course food. My goal is to become completely fluent in Spanish, in order to combine Spanish and medicine in a future career. I’ve always been fascinated in medicine, due to it being a career that allows me to help people. As a doctor, I would love to be a part of Doctors Without Borders, traveling to different parts of the world that are in need of medical help. I am hoping that Biotechnology will open many doors for me, such as going to medical school or other career paths.

Science and the environment have also been a passion of mine, so therefore SUNY- ESF seemed like the perfect choice for me. I also wanted to go to a school that would allow me to have smaller class sizes. SUNY-ESF is unique in the fact that it had small class sizes yet a large social scene through Syracuse University. Therefore, it was just what I was looking for!

A little more about me: I tend to be pretty outgoing and love going on hikes, adventures and so forth! I love to travel and will definitely be traveling abroad sometime in college career. I’m a snowboard instructor at Greek Peak but I also ski. I love all outdoor sports and just being outside. I can’t wait to meet everyone and am looking forward to an amazing freshman year.

Leave a Reply

